Selfish Manipulative  Request?

I have read Mark 10:35-39 quite a few times in the past but it recently dawned on me that these guys were selfish and manipulative – my opinion.

“And James and John, the sons of Zebedee, come unto Him, saying, Master, we would that thou shouldest do for us whatsoever we shall desire.

And he said unto them, What would ye that I should do for you?

They said unto him, Grant unto us that we may sit, one on thy right hand, and the other on thy left hand, in thy glory.”

James and John are two among the twelve disciples of Christ. If they both took the sides of Christ, what happens to the other ten? Why did they think they ought to be the opportuned? I kept pondering on these questions and arrived at my opinion.

Christ answered, “… to sit on my right hand and on my left hand is not mine to give; but it shall be given to them for whom it is prepared.” I will say that is a diplomatic answer but how else could He have answered? Or tried to explain that all the disciples should qualify to sit at either side?

I feel uncomfortable with some prayer points I hear nowadays e.g. “my miracle will be greater than yours” particularly if the second person referred to is a Christian like me. Why should I compete with my fellow brethren? Should we all not be in one mind? Why should I scheme for positions in the church? Could this be  the reason why Christ gives us “diplomatic” answers?

Leave a Reply

