What is your excuse?

Caleb was about 40 years old when he, Joshua and 10 others were sent by Moses to spy the promised land -Canaan. For 40 years, the Israelites wandered in the wilderness just so that God could deal with some of the disobedient (as I detailed in my last post). By mathematical calculation, Caleb was 80 years old when they got to the promised land. At 85, which I believe was last leg of his years on earth, he went to Joshua and demanded for his share of the inheritance.

“‘I am still as strong today as the day Moses sent me out; I’m just as vigorous to go out to battle now as I was then. Now give me this hill country (Hebron) that the Lord promised me that day. You yourself heard then that the Anakites were there and their cities were large and fortified, but, the Lord helping me, I will drive them out just as he said.’
So Hebron has belonged to Caleb son of Jephunneh the Kenizzite ever since, because he followed the Lord, the God of Israel, wholeheartedly. (Hebron used to be called Kiriath Arba after Arba, who was the greatest man among the Anakites.) Then the land had rest from war. “ Joshua 14:12-15

Caleb saw himself as God saw him. He called himself what God called him. At that age, he could have said, “now I am old, I have little strength to go on. My children will go on to drive away the Anakites. They have my blessing.” No! He was self motivated and relentless. Note that he did not settle for the plains, he made a choice of a hill country. Not only that, the country belonged to the greatest giant. Oh my! What a courage!

Like Jeffrey Gitomer wrote – “Obstacles can’t stop you. Problems can’t stop you. Most of all, other people can’t stop you. Only you can stop you.”

And Jordan Belfort wrote – “The only thing standing between you and your goal is the cock and bull story you keep telling yourself as to why you can’t achieve it.”

Let’s do a soul search. What dreams have you stopped pursuing?

2 thoughts on “What is your excuse?

Leave a Reply

