The Father’s love

🎶🎼 I have known the Father’s love for me, He’s been good. Through it all, He is always there for me, God’s been good to me. Through the storm, through the rain, come what may everything is going to be alrightt🎼🎶

The experience of Jonah depicts how loving our Father is. God sent him to Nineveh to deliver a sermon titled “Repentance”. Jonah deemed it unfit for the citizens to hear such a sermon lest they should repent. Instead of going to Nineveh, he boarded a ship to go to Tarshish (polar opposite).

While on the ship, there came a storm threatening the guys. So they cast a lot to determine who the culprit was. Jonah of course! He knew his sins had caught up with him and thus did not mind been thrown into the sea. The guys were at first reluctant but they eventually succumbed.

What happens next? The Lord, in his infinite mercies, provided a huge fish to swallow Jonah, and Jonah was in the belly of the fish three days and three nights (Jonah 1:17).

Why did not God permit a shark or whale to eat up Jonah for disobeying? Or he could be stung by a manta ray? Or shocked by the electric eel? Or simply drown…Endless possibilities… But no, the Father’s love covers multitude of sin.

God does not delight in the death of any sinner but that every man comes to repentance. Jonah said, “That is what I tried to forestall by fleeing to Tarshish. I knew that you are a gracious and compassionate God, slow to anger and abounding in love, a God who relents from sending calamity.” (Jonah 4:2)

This is not a licence to continually disobey and expect forgiveness or continually dwell in sin and expect mercy to speak for you. This is a call to those are yet to experience God’s love and are running away from it due to a form of guilt or self-righteousness. Come! come!! come!!!

Think about it, you could have been ‘stung by a ray’, ‘shocked by an eel’ or ‘eaten by a whale/shark’ and died a sinner. You are still alive because God’s mercies kept you. Come! come!! come!!!

🎼🎶 Lord, I come to you. I acknowledge my sins and ask for forgiveness. I thank you for you died for me so that I can become righteous. I accept the righteousness of God today. I ask that you take the lordship of my life and be my saviour. I accept the Holy Spirit and will work this journey of faith together in Jesus name. Amen🎶🎼

Leave a Reply

