Safe and secure from all alarms

I woke up quite early the other day to participate in a prayer meeting. My gorgeous daughter was wide awake and showed no sign of sleeping hence I took her with me to the meeting.

It was a meeting where everyone prayed in the spirit passionately and earnestly. Listening to such combination of voices and utterances would not be symphonic, I don’t think. Quite surprisingly, my daughter slept off peacefully on my chest in the noisy environment. It seems to me that the more the prayer intensity, the deeper my daughter slept. It was either she could not be bothered with the noise or she was feeling really sleepy or she had an assurance that all is well for she was with her mother.

🎼🎶Leaning, leaning,
Safe and secure from all alarms;
Leaning, leaning,
Leaning on the everlasting arms.

There and then I remembered the story of Jesus Christ in the boat during a storm. Christ slept off in that noisy state not necessarily because He could not be bothered or He was feeling really sleepy but for the truth that He was assured of the presence of His Father.

Likewise, Christ has extended his invitation to many. Then Jesus said, “Come to me, all of you who are weary and carry heavy burdens, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you. Let me teach you, because I am humble and gentle at heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy to bear, and the burden I give you is light.” Matt 11:28-30

For all who have entered into God’s rest have rested from their labors, just as God did after creating the world”. Heb 4:10

Leave a Reply

