Why exercise?

I have tried to maintain my daily routine of walk/run as I look forward to participating in another 5km race. I  have a time target in mind so hopefully I will meet my target. Daily routine requires discipline, self motivation, eating right, adequate resting in between training etc.

Several times I have had to get up earlier than usual. The more I used the muscles, the more they get accustomed to the routine although a bit painful in the first few days. All in all, I am enjoying the results; I feel healthier, lighter, happier. It is no wonder the NHS (UK) advocates for daily exercise of at least 30 minutes for adults. Joyce Meyer also once mentioned the  tremendous benefits working out has delivered for her. For those who work out, I believe we share same testimony.

Paul said to Timothy, “… and exercise thyself rather unto godliness. For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things….1 Timothy 4:7-8

How great to know that there is another form of work out which could yield even greater and much more beneficial results! Ofcourse it comes with a price but sure worth it!

So how then do I exercise unto godliness? Perhaps, we should define what godliness is. It is a state of being godly. Holy, God-fearing, righteous are some synonyms for godly. Simples!

As I devised a plan for my 5km race, so have I devised a daily plan for being godly and I am happy to share.

1. Speak in the spirit to God. 1 Cor 14:2. This is the language of conversation. The more you commune, the deeper the relationship with God and your knowledge of His will . You become 5 and 6.

2. Be led by the Spirit. Romans 8:14. This is a choice for you to make. If you seek God for direction, He will grant you and you should obey. While running the race, we had guides who led the runners and also various markers along the route, it was wisdom to follow the guides and the markers.

3. Walk in the spirit. Gal 5:16. Walking is defined as moving about on foot. To walk in the spirit is to carry the consciousness of the Spirit with you at all times and relate with him; draw strength as and when. Some of the runners particularly those on the 10km race (my brother) had fuel tank containing water and electrolyte strapped around the waste. They were conscious of the resource and they drank to replenish as and when. It would have been unwise to do otherwise.

4. Wrap up in the word. Joshua 1:8.

Keep exercising unto godliness for it delivers benefits in this life and in the life to come.

3 thoughts on “Why exercise?

      1. Yassss! That will be awesome πŸ˜€
        But it means I’ll have to actively start working out and throw all the smart excuses I give myself every morning, out the window πŸ˜’

        Like

Leave a Reply

