The race

I alongside my daughter took part in the much-anticipated 5K walk/run yesterday on the Cape Breton Island. Please don’t ask me how long it took to complete it. Though it was a race, I took out some life lessons.

A. Unique individuals
We commenced the race just after the coordinator blew the horn. Some individuals immediately sped past me and I left some behind me. Each person had a goal and plans. Some ran through out, some did power walk, some jogged, some walked/ran (like me). Each person in his own pace. Some individuals paired e.g. siblings, couple, parent and child, friends and I assumed each pair trained together yet each individual had slightly different pace. There were different age groups. I saw some pregnant women too. I outrun some individuals who had gone ahead of me early on likewise some outrun me. In all these, I compared myself with no one.

Just like above, we have been uniquely created by God and each of us has a specific purpose. “And it is he who gifted some to be apostles, others to be prophets, others to be evangelists, and still others to be pastors and teachers” (Eph 4:11).

B. Encouragement
These were cheerleaders along the route and at the finish line. I appreciated the former. I had Deborah with me fast asleep in the buggy seemingly unperturbed by the undulating road. It was quite challenging having to push and run uphill, I almost decided to stop. Then I heard the voice of a cheerleader saying (Canadian accent), “way to go girl”. I was enthused that I doubled my pace and almost tripped over. Oh, so much power in positive words and offering encouragement!

There are some individuals passing through challenges in their homes, marriage, health, career etc and almost wanting to give up. If only you utter edifying statements like, “you are more than a conqueror in Christ Jesus”, “you can do all things through Christ Jesus”.(Heb 3:13, 1 Thess 5:11).

C. Get rid of weights
I had my two hands on the buggy and kept running as fast as my legs could carry me. It was fun and she did give me inspiration. But really the uphill runs were challenging and it would have been less so if I had not carried her with me. I have not seen ‘mother and buggy combo’ in serious-minded races (the likes of Usain Bolt and Mo Farah) and not that I have seen a lot.

It is wisdom to lay aside every weight that hinders and pulls us down. (Heb 12:1)

D. Running the race
I started training for this race some weeks ago. I researched on how to prepare for such a race and I followed (howbeit not regimental) a tested and trusted routine – walk/run/jog every other day and used the elliptical on alternate days. There were some types of food I had to avoid and there were some I introduced into my diet. I prepared mentally and physically. I was determined to get through the race. During this training period, I eliminated involvement in trivial activities. On the day of the race, I followed all instructions and the route mapped out.

Just like 2 Timothy 2:4-6, a Christian should, on a daily basis, be Kingdom minded.

2 thoughts on “The race

  1. Whoa! I’m amazed, wish I could have witnessed that. I saw a mom running and pushing a stroller on a bike track the other day and I got so proud of that stranger, just cos I’m a woman too. Good job lady, you are an inspiration!

    Like

Leave a Reply

