I am encouraged

I am currently navigating a journey in life and I have fallen in to a mood. My thoughts are: ‘how do I manage through with my resources‘, ‘am I going to cope in this new environment?‘,  ‘how smooth will the transition process be?‘ ….Those are sudden flash of thoughts despite that I know I am in the will of God.

While studying Leviticus I found something so encouraging. By the way, Leviticus contains the laws God gave to the Israelites through Moses after they had come out of Egypt. A couple out of the many laws was that the Israelites were to observe the Sabbath and Jubilee years. I will explain. For six years, they were to sow, prune and harvest but not in the seventh year as this was meant to be a Sabbath year and dedicated to the Lord. And the fiftieth year after seven Sabbath years is Jubilee year. They were not to sow or reap what grew of itself or harvest the untended vines.

At this point, my natural instincts kicked in. I spent a couple of minutes thinking, “did that mean they would go hungry in those years?”, “what did the Lord expect them to eat?”, “perhaps they would have had to save up for the Sabbath and Jubilee years?“, “but was the harvest per year sufficient thereof?“, “would they have had to ration during the six years to cater for the seventh year?“. Then I continued reading and 8 verses further down, I read the below:

‘You may ask, “What will we eat in the seventh year if we do not plant or harvest our crops?” I will send you such a blessing in the sixth year that the land will yield enough for three years. While you plant during the eighth year, you will eat from the old crop and will continue to eat from it until the harvest of the ninth year comes in.’ Lev 25:20-22

Oh, that blew me off! The only requirement from the Israelite was obedience! God had sorted them out! Almost instantly, I remembered that this was what God told Elijah .“Go at once to Zarephath in the region of Sidon and stay there. I have directed a widow there to supply you with food.” 1 Kings 17: 9.

Similarly in Luke 9:1-4, ‘When Jesus had called the twelve together, he gave them power and authority to drive out all demons and to cure diseases, and he sent them out to proclaim the kingdom of God and to heal the sick. He told them: Take nothing for the journey—no staff, no bag, no bread, no money, no extra shirt. Whatever house you enter, stay there until you leave that town’.

The moral is ‘God has it well planned as long as I am in His will’. I am confident. I am encouraged. Perhaps, you are like me about to or currently navigating through a journey (in line with God’s will), be encouraged because God has taken care of all!

One thought on “I am encouraged

  1. Very insightful read. Levitus has never been a book characterising a reading appeal for me but your text is brought a new found curiousity. The God of the Bible is indeed all loving and like you rightly mentioned, if only we learn to ‘obey’ and ‘walk in His will’,we will understand that all His precepts and commands are for our benefit, as He already has everything factored in place for us. Thank you TemiTope.

    Like

Leave a Reply

