How forgiving are you?

The life of Stephen keeps me in check. He was a Jew and a deacon who ministered to the widows in Jerusalem. It was recorded that he was a man full of faith and of the Holy Spirit.

At some point in his ministry, he was accused of blasphemy against Moses and God. He was brought before the Jewish rulers who had the authority to mar and make individuals. Stephen answered all allegations by speaking the truth, the history of the Jews from Abraham and how their fathers killed the prophets and Jesus Christ. The rulers were not so keen on listening so they cried with a loud voice and stopped their ears….truth is better.

They ran upon Stephen in one and stoned him! As Stephen was being stoned, he knelt down and said, “Lord, lay not this sin again their charge”!!! Oh blimey!!!

There is a possibility for an individual to think in this manner, “Lord, I am about your business and is this how it will end up? Please cause anearthquake to consume these individuals. I cannot be stoned! I cannot be humiliated. This is not a fault of mine that I have spoken the truth. I am actually doing the right thing”

Stephen had the Holy Spirit, I have the Holy Spirit, Stephen had a measure of faith, I have a measure. Why do I find it difficult to forgive? Stephen made a choice, a choice to forgive…

Leave a Reply

