Can you watch with me for an hour?

Have you ever been asked this question “can you watch with me for an hour?” ? What was your answer? If you had said yes, did you action as required?

I bet you are wondering what sort of question that is? Well, it could actually be asked in various formats for example, “Could you prayerfully agree with me over an issue?”, “Could we deliberate over this issue?”, “Could you pick up groceries for me from the supermarket?”, “Could you lend a hand?”  “Could you assist me in completing this task?”, “Could you accompany me to a place?” “Could you babysit for me”?, “Could I get a ride with you?”etc I also believe these will be from friends, may be not strangers.

What am I trying to drive at? We will get there in few minutes! The bible records that Jesus Christ had 12 disciples. Among these, he had 3 (Peter, James and John) whom he was closet to. I guess he relied more on these ones and probably was more transparent with them. When Jesus Christ was about to fulfill His mandate, He, with the 12, went to the garden of Gethsemane. He walked farther on with the closet 3 whom he told, “The sorrow in my heart is so great that it almost crushes me. Stay here and keep watch with me”. Then, he went farther on to pray. He came back after an hour to see these three sleeping. He exclaimed, “What! Are you so utterly unable to stay awake and keep watch with me for one hour?”.  This scenario repeated itself thrice.

I imagine the shock Jesus Christ had and how let down He must have felt. He was apparently in a state of distress and I imagine he needed some prayer warriors around him, or friends singing praises which might have uplifted His spirit, or friends offering words of encouragement at that moment. I imagine that He trusted these three to be there with Him through thick and thin hence the reason for taking them farther on. Alas! He got none!

And at this point, I am thinking, these three did not live up to the expectation at that moment. Why had they followed Him on when they knew they would not deliver? Why did they say yes? Why had they raised false hopes?

Now ask yourself the following:

1. Have I ever asked this question “can you watch with me for an hour?” ?

2. What was the reply? If the person said yes, did the person action it?

3. If the person did not action it (after saying yes), how did it make me feel?

One thought on “Can you watch with me for an hour?

  1. i believe those three wanted to fulfilled there obligation to Jesus but they lack the strength due to tiredness. Jesus probably knew that they won’t be able to watch with him. It takes the grace of God not to fall into temptation, look at Peter, one of his closet disciple that Jesus himself said he will built his church and the gate of hell shall not prevail. The same Peter denied him 3 times, it is by his grace we are able to please him, not by our strength, power, or intellectual etc. God bless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

