Is my < 4 month old baby singing or talking?

…awake early in the morning for close to 3 hours having slept for barely 3 hours overnight (occasional occurrence) because my gorgeous daughter, Deborah, will not go to bed. She is happy making those sounds; some are rhythmic (I figure these are songs) while others are not (I figure these are talks). In my curiosity, I asked Deborah, what she was singing and saying. Of course, I knew she would not answer me in the way I wanted but hey it is the ‘motherhood experience’. Anyway, here she goes making more of those songs and talks and instantly Psalm 8:2 popped into my head (it was an Eureka moment!).

Psalm 8:2 says “Through the praise of babes and unweaned infants you have established a stronghold against your enemies to silence the foe and the avenger.

Another version says “You have made sure that children and infants praise you. Their praise is a wall that stops the talk of your enemies”.

Another version says “You  have taught children and (suckling) babies to sing praise to you because of your enemies. And so you silence your enemies and destroy those who try to get even”

I took this verse literally and marveled (yet again) at the Lord’s greatness. I then joined this up with the Psalm 22:3 – ‘God inhabits the praise of His people” and then with Psalm 16:11 -“In His presence there is fullness of joy and pleasure for evermore”. Going on, I mentally went through the stories of Paul and Silas (Acts 16) and King Jehoshaphat (2 Chronicles 20). Oh, how I was elated! It was an eye-opener to know that Deborah’s songs and talks are effective in the realms of the spirit and physical. Guess what I did- I joined in and also became her cheer leader! “Sing on Deborah! Talk on Deborah!”, I chanted.

Deborah feels sleepy now…but I am so energized such that I feel we should continue our praise session.

Our suckling children utter praises to God, they are not babbling. Do you agree?

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Is my < 4 month old baby singing or talking?

Leave a Reply

